276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Calling: A John Luther Novel

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Brilliantly read as every David Bauckham narration is, each character an individual easy to indentify from little girl to sleaze bags. It would have been easy for this tv series tie-in to be average and disappointing but it was the exact opposite. Some of them make perfect sense to exist in this novel: Zoe, his wife, is still the complex cross of selfish and trapped in a relationship that does her no good; and Rose Teller, his boss, is still the same acidic cop first human second character – the two women in Luther's life.

Her past is most definitely troubled, she’s morally ambiguous but with a strong sense of justice – be that within the law or otherwise – and in this, her first outing and first murder case, she is up against a copycat Jack the Ripper. Then there's Elba, who has gone from post-Wire lull to blockbuster star, with roles in Prometheus and Thor, and an upcoming stint as Nelson Mandela in Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom.John Luther is a tortured and talented detective who gets into the heads of his victims and targets. The original concept for the intense London-set series came purely from the imagination of the BBC drama’s creator, Neil Cross. Finally, Cross has realised that even in a hyperreal, comic-book world, policemen can't ring up the number of bodies that Luther does and continue to get away with it.

Before I can get it together, two blokes get out, run round, drag me out my car, and give me a right kicking. Coming out in 2011, around the same time as the second Luther serial, this novel describes the case immediately prior to the TV serial. I have two nit-picking points (but before anyone pounces on me for being super critical, these points were, in my view, worthy of mention, but not so significant as to pose any threat to a five star rating). To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average.Luther will be facing the ghosts of his past as he tries to solves a series of murders across London with his new recruit D. This was a good read with characters and actions that are dark and disturbing, which made for some uncomfortable reading in parts. It quickly became compulsive reading; sometimes I could not turn the next page quick enough; other times, I hesitated because I was anticipating some graphic unpleasantness coming up. While chasing a murderous child thief there is also the matter of a friend of Ian Reed that needs protecting from some goons that want the man out of his home so some developers can tear the neighborhood down in exchange of a better neighborhood and a wee bit more expensive. This gripping mix of police procedural and psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Thomas Harris and C J Tudor.

He’s eighty-five fucking years old and he tried to do things the right way and his country let him down. At the other end of the scale, the character that is so blatantly included just so those people who watched the TV serial can go "ah-hah" is Justin Ripley, there's no valid reason for him to be in the novel, he doesn't interact with Luther at all, just briefly collects a statement half way through the story. The Luther book tells the tale of the case of child killer Henry Madsen who was a major bad guy in the TV series.And while we consider these questions of right and wrong, Cross presents feral London, with its vigilantes doling out summary justice on one hand and prankists taking advantage to play tricks on the other. It is a prequel to the first series giving us some back story to the characters with it's own intrguing storyline. My understanding of the tv series is that Luther pushes the boundaries and is a dark character and given this book is written after the tv series to try and explain (prologue) the Luther character I think the author has gone overboard in the violence and nature of the crime Luther is investigating which detracts from the story (and I have read a lot of crime novels). I quickly became hooked on it, on paper the tortured cop could come across as a cliche but the writing and performances ensured that didn't happen. The shooting script for today's scenes is titled "Alice's Lair", and that word is a considered choice.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment